View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bindu Beginner
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 17 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 7:02 am Post subject: Passing parameters to ISPF through Rexx |
|
|
Hello All,
I need to pass parameters to ISPF through my Rexx program ..How can we do it ?
Regards,
Bindu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bindu,
Can you elaborate as to what you are trying to do ,so that we can come up with a solution? Do you want to modify any logon settings or increase the region size??
kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bindu Beginner
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 17 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello Kolusu,
The problem is that i have to write a Rexx program which accepts user input and pass these parameters to ISPF edit macro to do a find and replace.The string to be found and replaced are accepted as the input ..
I wish to know how the rexx program can pass parameters to edit macro and how the macro can accept it
Regards
Bindu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ofer71 Intermediate
Joined: 12 Feb 2003 Posts: 358 Topics: 4 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi
You allways can use PUSH and PULL.
Another way is to save the parameters as dataset, and read them later.
In my opinion, the VPUT & VGET way is the easiest and safest way.
________
volcano classic
Last edited by ofer71 on Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:56 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dibakar Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bindu,
In case you want to replace some big strings I guess you will have to use pull command to get the strings, though this will probably make the macro less fun to use. Following macro, not tested, should work in this case -
Code: |
/* REXX program to change big strings */
address ISREDIT
"MACRO"
say 'Give old string to replace'
pull old_str
say 'Give new string to replace with'
pull new_str
"CHANGE '"old_str"' '"new_str"'"
exit
|
Diba
Last edited by Dibakar on Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:31 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum Advanced
Joined: 15 Dec 2002 Posts: 637 Topics: 43 Location: Bengaluru, INDIA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bindu,
Maybe this would help?
Code: |
/** REXX **/
address isredit " macro (o n)"
isredit "CHANGE " o n
exit
|
Suppose, you save the above code as M1. You can invoke it as,
_________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dibakar Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 3:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Cogito,
This can be done without any macro as "c old new". I guess Bindu's problem is in replacing long string, when the content wont fit command line.
Diba. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum Advanced
Joined: 15 Dec 2002 Posts: 637 Topics: 43 Location: Bengaluru, INDIA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 4:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dibakar,
Of course. That is what I felt, while I was posting. But, I did not want to guess. Probably, she would clarify. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bindu Beginner
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 17 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 2:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I was able to run the macro .. thanks for all the help |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|