MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

fetched fields alone in the dataset

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 11:26 am    Post subject: fetched fields alone in the dataset Reply with quote

Iam running a SELECT query in the JCL.

When i open the the dataset,it shows
sqlcode 00
5 rows retrieved
....
...
and then the value of the fetched field.

I need the data of fetched fields alone in the o/p dataset and don't need the sql informations.
how do i get it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding to the above,In the where clause i need the system date.Also pls let me know the parameter to get it in the query.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

radkrish,

Please search before posting. Check this link

http://mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=4054&highlight=unload

Quote:

Adding to the above,In the where clause i need the system date.Also pls let me know the parameter to get it in the query.


you can code current date in your where clause

ex:

Code:

SELECT *
  FROM TABLE
 WHERE DATE_COLUMN = CURRENT DATE
 ;


Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i run this query,it always gives this warning message.
.JAAA 0 DSS8094A - DB2 USING DSN RETRY DEFAULT
JCL submission was successfull.but why was it so?

Edit : Found that its an advisory message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stalin
Beginner


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Topics: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 3:23 am    Post subject: to insert a field in the dataset Reply with quote

Dear kollsu,

i have a flat file with

record length : 80
block size :800
record format :FB

we are not sure of how many records it has. But we need to insert a value
ABC1 in the first record in 10th position .
the next record Should have the value ABC2 in the same position and so on.
for exp.

rama 2345 ABC1
ravi 4566 ABC2
KRIS 5677 ABC3
.
the program should let us know what was the last value got inserted in that particular position.

can you please help me on this

THE LENGTH OF THE INSERTED FIELD IS 4.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Dear kollsu,


Stalin,

Please try to spell the names correctly.

Quote:

we are not sure of how many records it has. But we need to insert a value ABC1 in the first record in 10th position . the next record Should have the value ABC2 in the same position and so on.THE LENGTH OF THE INSERTED FIELD IS 4.


If your field length is only 4 bytes, what value do you want if you have 10 records? Do you want to reset back to 1?

Quote:

the program should let us know what was the last value got inserted in that particular position.


You mean to say , the program needs to make phone call to you and tell you the last value it inserted?

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stalin
Beginner


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Topics: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:41 pm    Post subject: yes it has to make a phone call Reply with quote

Yes it has to make a phone call and say this to me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Yes it has to make a phone call and say this to me


Stalin,

Follow these steps

1. Sign up for new phone with the following details

Code:


Name    : Cobpgm
Adress  : 16 MB Z/OS operating system Drive
          Mainframe City
          IBM - XXXX1


2. Employ another person/robot to live at that address.

So as soon your pgm completes, he can call you and tell you the details.


Hope this helps...


Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stalin
Beginner


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Topics: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:48 am    Post subject: how toinsert a field Reply with quote

Dear Kolusu, lets stop fighting for a while and i kindly request you to help me out...i will explain my problem clear, to my level best...


i have a dataset with

Record Format : FB
Record Length : 80
Block Size :800

we are not sure of the total number of records.
i need to insert a 8 digit Alpha numeric character(which we call it as TAG) in 10th position in each of the record.

For example:

arun abc12345
ramesh abc12346
kumar abc12347
.
.
.ravi abc12349
.raghu abc12350 (please see the tag value gets increased by 1).

ASSUMPTION: THE TOTAL NUMBER OF RECORDS DOES NOT EXCEED 1000.

so,if we give the initial tag value , it has to tag all the records and finally it has to let the programmer know the last value of the Tag that has been inserted.

hope i made you understand my problem. suggest me whether it can be done with utilities in JCL or we need to go for a Cobol program. i would like to do it with the utilities rather than cobol...looking forward for your reply with lots of hope.

Thanks
stalin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Dear Kolusu, lets stop fighting for a while and i kindly request you to help me out...i will explain my problem clear, to my level best...


You should have realized that before playing along.

The following JCL will give you the desired results.

Code:

//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN   DD DSN=YOUR INPUT DATASET,
//            DISP=SHR
//OUT      DD DSN=YOUR OUTPUT DATASET,
//            DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
//            UNIT=SYSDA,
//            SPACE=(CYL,(X,Y),RLSE)
//CNT      DD DSN=YOUR HIGHEST SEQNUM FILE,
//            DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
//            UNIT=SYSDA,
//            SPACE=(TRK,(1,1),RLSE)
//SYSIN    DD *
  SORT FIELDS=COPY
  OUTREC FIELDS=(1,9,          $ COPY FIRST 9 BYTES FROM INPUT
                 C'ABC',       $ CONSTANT ABC
                 SEQNUM,5,ZD)  $ 5 BYTE SEQNUM
  OUTFIL FNAMES=OUT
  OUTFIL FNAMES=CNT,NODETAIL,REMOVECC,
  OUTREC=(1,17,80:X),
  TRAILER1=(C'THE HIGHEST NUMBER INSERTED IS: ',13,5)
/*


The next step code an email step to send "your highest seqnum file" to you via smtp

check these links which explains about sending email.

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=439&highlight=mail

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=3223&highlight=mail

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2667&highlight=mail

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
As per Stalin's sample output, the running number is not having leading zeroes, whereas your step will put the sequence number with leading zeroes.

Also, he says,
Quote:
so,if we give the initial tag value , it has to tag all the records and finally it has to let the programmer know the last value of the Tag that has been inserted.

.
So, the SEQNUM operator should have START= too (dynamically, of course).

Did I miss something?
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Kolusu,
As per Stalin's sample output, the running number is not having leading zeroes, whereas your step will put the sequence number with leading zeroes.


Cogito,

Take a look at the stalin post which was posted just above my solution.

Quote:

ASSUMPTION: THE TOTAL NUMBER OF RECORDS DOES NOT EXCEED 1000.


His requirements are not clear. If the max no: of records is less than 1000 , why do you need a 5 byte seqnum? hmm I don't think stalin wants a dynamic sequence numbering. I may be wrong on that.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stalin
Beginner


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Topics: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:49 am    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Dear kolusu, thanks for your solution. your program worked good . i made some more modification in the program thats suits my exact requirement. i will be back soon withsome more quries.

Warm regards.

Stalin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group