MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Change of file name at receiving end in FTP step

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:29 am    Post subject: Change of file name at receiving end in FTP step Reply with quote

FTP parameters:

my control card has

*ip*
*user*
*pw*
put 'AAA.BBBB' CCC.txt (the file name is to be suffixed with datetimestamp and it should be changed for each run of the job.The name should look like CCC200508121250 and the next day it should be CCC20050813121206 and so on....)
quit

Give me your suggestions whether i could change it on JCL side.no problem if change should be in the program(pls provide the code).
_________________
regds,
radkrish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please search before posting.

You can build on Kolusu's posts in these threads.

FTP date 1
FTP date 2
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bithead
Advanced


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Topics: 23
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like this one:

Code:

//BUILDCMD EXEC PGM=EZACFSM1
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD DSN=&CMD,DISP=(NEW,PASS).... <=LRECL=80
//SYSIN DD *
*ip*
*user*
*pw*
PUT CCC&LYR4&LMON&LDAY&LHR&LMIN&LSEC..TXT
QUIT
//*
//FTPSTEP EXEC PGM=FTP.....(parms)
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//INPUT DD DSN=&CMD,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)
//OUTPUT DD SYSOUT=*
//*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bithead,
Is EZACFSM1 a shop specific Pgm? I have not come across it.
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12369
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

radkrish,

Check these links which discuss about similar issue.

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2654&highlight=ezacfsm1

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=3153&highlight=ezacfsm1

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2101&highlight=ezacfsm1

Cogito ,

EZACFSM1 is a standard TCP/IP symbol translator utility by IBM to translate the symbols before the files are read by TCP/IP. EZACFSM1 reads an input file and writes to an output file, translating any symbols in the process.

Hope this helps...

Cheers

kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
I know about EZACFSM1. But, I was unsure when I saw its usage as a PROC rather than a program.
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works well but it gives FTP Return Code = 99000.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ftp return code is because of that I have given a lengthier filename on the ftp parm which exceeds 72 char on the same line.So i have to continue in the next line.Can anyone please let me know how to continue to the next line in the parm.

eg.;

put 'aaaa.bbbb.txt' WQX07R1-&LYR4. &LMON.&LDAY.&LHR.&LMIN. &LSEC..CSV
(which forces to enter continuation in the next line).
Hence it results in error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12369
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

radkrish,

Please search before posting . Check this link which discusses the exact issue.

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2720&highlight=ftp+line

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.I got it.Thanks for all your replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i want to add milliseconds on to &LHR.&LSEC,what should i use here to get it?
Is that possible in this way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12369
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

If i want to add milliseconds on to &LHR.&LSEC,what should i use here to get it?


You don't have an option to set the milliseconds. However you can concatenate a couple of fields and generate one.

Check this link for available symbolics

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/IEA1E241/2.2.2

Hope this helps...

Cheers

kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
radkrish
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Topics: 19

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The idea works well.Thanks,Kolusu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group