View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
wolves Beginner
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 17 Topics: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:18 pm Post subject: Search in datasets |
|
|
Still new and fumbling through this. I have compiled my program but seem to have an infile error. I think I copied the wrong copybook. I need to find the correct copybook for my program and I know there is one that exist.
How do I search all the datasets from the command line for a specific field which I know would be unique to maybe 1 or 2 datasets?
thx. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wolves,
3.14(Search-For Utility) or 3.15(Extended Search-For Utility) facilitates to search for the desired string. You can run it in Batch also . This is the sample JCL
Code: |
//SEARCH EXEC PGM=ISRSUPC, *
// PARM=(SRCHCMP,
// '')
//NEWDD DD DSN=your first dsn,
// DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=your second dsn,
// DISP=SHR
//OUTDD DD SYSOUT=(*)
//SYSIN DD *
SRCHFOR 'your sting to be searched'
/*
|
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolves Beginner
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 17 Topics: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Still having trouble. In 3.14, I have the following:
Search String . .................COMPILE
Other Partitioned, Sequential or VSAM Data Set:
Data Set Name . . .'AAAA.GGGG.FFF2.SOURCE'
So I am looking for COMPILE in the following DS.
It takes me to the DS, but nothing is searched, am I missing a step here? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolves Beginner
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 17 Topics: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got the search in 3.14 to work.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum Advanced
Joined: 15 Dec 2002 Posts: 637 Topics: 43 Location: Bengaluru, INDIA
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try Data Set Name . . .'AAAA.GGGG.FFF2.SOURCE(*)' _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wolves,
What do you mean it is not searching?
1. Choose option 3.14
2. Give the search string which in your case is COMPILE
3. Supply the DSN name to be searched
4. Make sure that you have the 1 for Execution Mode and Output mode (this is at the bottom right side)
Code: |
Execution Mode Output Mode
1 1.Foreground 1 1.View
2.Batch 2.Browse
|
5. Press Enter
Now you should see a message like " search in progress " at the bottom
And after that you will see
Code: |
ISRSUPC - MVS/PDF FILE/LINE/WORD/BYTE/SFOR COMP
LINE-# SOURCE SECTION SRCH DSN:
|
and it will show you the line number in which the search string is found
Hope this helps..
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolves Beginner
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 17 Topics: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got the search in 3.14 to work.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolves Beginner
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 17 Topics: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got the search in 3.14 to work.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|