View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
modak Beginner
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 14 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Fri May 07, 2004 12:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ravi,
What REXX/CLIST CODE shall I write for -
'check if a member in some PDS does exist else create it . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
prakal Beginner
Joined: 14 Mar 2003 Posts: 22 Topics: 1
|
Posted: Sat May 08, 2004 7:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For checking if a member of a PDS exists you would use the SYSDSN function as shown below:
Code: |
x = sysdsn("'your.pds.name(membername)'")
|
x will have a value OK if the member exists.
x will have a value MEMBER NOT FOUND if the member does not exist.
To create a member refer to this post:
http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=289&highlight=
Prakal |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kumarsivarajan Beginner
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Topics: 2 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 1:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
RAVI,
I WONT WORK IN OUR ENVT BECAUSE IT CREATES DATASETS IN MAINFRAME
ENVTS ONLY CAN GIVE MUCH MORE DETAILS ABOUT THIS ONE
THANKS
KUMAR _________________ the total world is equal to pure knowledge |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum Advanced
Joined: 15 Dec 2002 Posts: 637 Topics: 43 Location: Bengaluru, INDIA
|
Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
About SYSDSN from the manual
Quote: | SYSDSN does not directly support data that is on tape. SYSDSN supports generation data group (GDG) data sets when using absolute generation names, but does not support relative GDG names. |
_________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kumarsivarajan Beginner
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Topics: 2 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ravi,
My quertion is regrads to your rexx programm,
my problem:
i tried with your programm but i got the 'ps' file with myid is a hlq ,created in the mainframe only not in windows, if is it necessary give the windows path?
thanks
kumar _________________ the total world is equal to pure knowledge |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kumarsivarajan Beginner
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Topics: 2 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 8:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ravi,
Thanks for your quick response finally I fixed the error it was happened due to firewall in our network(pc terminal), anyway I post my error
FTP: using TCPIP
Connecting to: aaa.b.c.ddd port: 21.
getNextReply error from recv = (1128.769F0442) - EDC8128I Connection refused
Connection with aaa.b.c.ddd terminated.
#And its works fine between two diff mainframe machines#
Thanks
kumar
Edited by the admin: Masked the IP address _________________ the total world is equal to pure knowledge |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SureshKumar Intermediate
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 211 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 10:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kumar,
Is it your true IP address, I would not be posting it any where, just take care. Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dibakar Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 6:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do we need special access to FTP through REXX? I am getting following message -
Code: |
CEE5101C During initialization, the OpenEdition callable service BPX1MSS failed
. The system return code was 0000000156
, the reason code was 0B0C00FC . The application will be terminated.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dibakar Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
kolusu,
Thanks for you detailed explanation. I found out from my colleagues that ftp access is restricted here. Though I don't see the point, using emulator anything an be transferred.
Diba. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Diba, for what it's worth, FTP access is usually restricted for non-production uses. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rahull Beginner
Joined: 29 Jan 2004 Posts: 62 Topics: 19
|
Posted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
i tried for FTPing one file from Mainframe to my PC.
I am getting a message ::
EZA1554I Connecting to: 10.75.100.24 port: 21.
EZA2590E getNextReply error from recv = (1128.769F0442) - EDC8128I Connection refused.
EZA1457I You must first issue the 'OPEN' command
EZA1460I Command:
That mean their is a firewall..Right?
Now how will I ftp the file using batch job ??? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | That mean there is a firewall..Right? |
Sure sounds like it. Either that, or your machine is not running FTP, or the FTP task is not configured to listen on port 21.
Can you open an FTP session on the machine to itself?
I would get your network engineers to assist. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maton_Man Beginner
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 123 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
For you to be able to FTP to your machine/PC your PC needs to be at least running an FTP server! Forget about checking network issues just yet - if there ain't no server you can't connect!
You can download free FTP server software for your machine which will enable you to send data to it from the mainframe easily.
Search the web for - Quick 'n' Easy FTP Server
I use it and it works a treat. _________________ My opinions are exactly that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|