MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Getting error -204 : How to set SQLID dynamically.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hithesh_r
Beginner


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 1:47 am    Post subject: Getting error -204 : How to set SQLID dynamically. Reply with quote

I am working on a COBOL-CICS module using dynamic SQLs:
I am getting an error of -204 while execution. This is because of not setting the SQLID.
As my module will be promoted to different regions, the SQLID will change. ie In one region the SQLID can be 'AAA' , in other it can be 'BBB' etc. For this I have to set the SQLID dynamically. Kindly let me know how to do this with an example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hithesh,

Please do not post the same question in more than 1 forum. I deleted the other post in the application programming forum.Please search before posting. There is a similar topic which was just 1 topic below this topic in the database forum and here is the link for the topic

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2070

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
hithesh_r
Beginner


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for the immediate response.

As you have suggested the code:
EXEC SQL
SET CURRENT SQLID = 'ABC'
END-EXEC
This code is setting the SQLID as 'ABC' permanently in the module, but if we are moving the module to a different region, which is having different SQLID this code won't work.
For the above problem, is there any way to get the current SQLID of the region for setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hitesh,

Did you try reading the subsequent posts of mine in the link provided? Please go thru the topic once again and in there you will find a way of finding the DB2 subsystem being attached to the particular CICS region.

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group