MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

GDG Version

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mcshastry
Beginner


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Topics: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:45 am    Post subject: GDG Version Reply with quote

Please explain me when GDG versions are used ie Vnn.
when we give '+1' to a GDG base and run a job a new 'generation(Gnnnn)' will be created.I want to know how we can change Vnn?(Version)?and where it will be used?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superk
Advanced


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 684
Topics: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can change the Version number of an existing GDG many different ways:

1. A straight copy:
Code:

//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER                                     
//SYSUT1   DD   DISP=SHR,DSN=HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V00             
//SYSUT2   DD   DSN=HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V01,                     
//         DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),UNIT=UNIT,SPACE=...
//SYSPRINT DD   SYSOUT=*                                         
//SYSIN    DD   DUMMY                                             

2. An IDCAMS Alter command:
Code:

//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=IDCAMS                                           
//SYSPRINT DD   SYSOUT=*                                             
//SYSIN    DD   *                                                   
 ALTER 'HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V00' NEWNAME('HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V01') 
/*                                                                   

3. A TSO Rename command:
Code:

//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01                                         
//SYSTSPRT DD   SYSOUT=*                                             
//SYSTSIN  DD   *                                                   
RENAME 'HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V00' 'HLQ.MYGDG.G0001V01'
/*                                                                   

Or, you can rename the dataset in TSO/ISPF.

As far as using a different version number, some uses I have heard are:

1. Replacing an existing GDG dataset with bad or incorrect data with an updated version while retaining the original order.

2. Changing the version number from V00 to V01 to indicate that the dataset has been processed.

3. Changing the format of an existing GDG dataset (i.e. a change to the RECFM or LRECL) while retaining the original order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And, if you wanted V00 back (when V01 is in effect) use TSO ALTER...ROLLIN .
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swapna
Beginner


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Topics: 1
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

will both v01 and v00 exist at a time. and in jcl +0 is mentioned , which will be considered. i am confused with

1. A straight copy.
Here both V01 and V00 exists.

2.An IDCAMS Alter command:
Only V01 version of that particular generation exists.


When "TSO ALTER...ROLLIN" will be useful in the first case or second case.
_________________
Thanks,

Swapna
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12377
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

will both v01 and v00 exist at a time.


Swapna,

yes both can exist at the same time.
Quote:

and in jcl +0 is mentioned , which will be considered. i am confused with

1. A straight copy.
Here both V01 and V00 exists.


v00 will be taken into account.

2. You cannot use relative generation numbers in IDCAMS.

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
swapna
Beginner


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Topics: 1
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks kolusu. I will try this
_________________
Thanks,

Swapna
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group